"
Newspaper Archive of
The Julian News
Julian , California
Lyft
April 8, 2015     The Julian News
PAGE 1     (1 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
 
PAGE 1     (1 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
April 8, 2015
 

Newspaper Archive of The Julian News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2022. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.




The Only Weekly Newspaper Serving the 2 Backcountry Communities of Julian, Cuyamaca, Santa Ysabel, Shelter Valley, Mt. Laguna, Ranchita, Sunshine Summit, Warner Springs and Wynola. Volume 30 - Issue 35 Wednesday April 8, 2015 Julian, CA. ISSN 1937-8416 www.]ulianNews.com Fiddle Camp Concerts - Ya'll Come For the fifth year of it's existence the Julian Family Fiddle Camp once invites the community to come on out and .enjoy some of the world class musicians they are featuring as instructors. On Friday and Saturday evening the Camerer Hall(Main Lodge) is turned into a concert hall to present the music, this annual Spring Concert Series is the regional event of the year. Chris 'Coole - Friday evening, April 10th from 7 - 9 will feature Chris Coole - Chris got his first banjo when he was 17 years old after falling in love with-the sounds of early country music. Today, Chris is one of the finest exponents of the clawhammer style in North America. Early on, Chris discovered the joys of busking. His practice halls were the streets and subway of Toronto and it was there that he developed the foundations of his music: "1 would play clawhammer banjo for many hours a day. Sometimes I would play the same tune for an hour without stopping, coming up with variations and unconsciously working on my tone. Later, I learned to play guitar from busking with fiddlers like Ray Sullivan, Scott Prodty and Matt Haney. Me and Joey Wright learned to sing harmony together down there - singing duets and watching the world go by. It was a great time in my life that I wouldn't trade for anything." Weekly describes as a "collision of Django Reinhardt and David Grisman," TAARKA ("taarka" - a special way to make food spicy) is the new acoustic "supergroup." Led by the husband-and-wife team of David Tiller (mandolin, tenor guitar, vocals) and Enion Pelta-Tiller (five-string violin, vocals), TAARKA fills out its unique sound with impeccable sounds of guitarist Scott Law, ! When you hear TAARKA, you'll sense the "spice" of Western and Eastern folk traditions, jazz, rock, bluegrass, old-time, gypsy, Indian, and-Celtic music, and all in a traditional string band setting. It will also include appearances by many of the Julian Family Fiddle Camp's 2015 instructors, including National, Colorado and Texas State Fiddle Champ, Katie Glassman. David Tiller is a versatile picker raised in Virginia on a diet of bluegrass. Celtic. classical and gypsy jazz, and Enion Pelta-Tilier, continued on page 7 Mari Black Brian Oberlin Enion Pelta-Tiller, David Tiller TAARKA Gene Libbea Katie Glassman Scott Law and those of bass powerhouse, Gene Libbea. Enion comes to Julian as the lead fiddle instructor at the 2015 Julian Family Fiddle Camp. Her show with David, Scott and Gene strikes a balance between well-crafted songs and spirited instrumentals, and draws on a wide range of influences. Rebecca Stout Luke Price Chris will will be joined by: reigning National Old Time Fiddle Champ, Luke Price, the reigning Glenfiddich (Scottland) Fiddle Champion; Marl Black; mandolin virtuoso, Brian Oberlin; and Appalachian flatfoot dancer, Rebecca Stout. Saturday night (also from 7 to 9) Cone out to hear a band that SF The Great Easter Egg Hunts O000000ii00lll PRESORTED STANDARD PERMIT NO. 301 II JULIAN, CA Jll Whether foraging through Jess Martin Park or between stacks at the library, Julian's little people hadplenty on Easter Bunny leavings to scoop up Saturday. SDrino Sports Schedule Track and Field Sat, Mar 21 12th Annual Elmer Runge Classic Patrick Henry 9:00 AM Fri, Mar 27 Citrus #1 Vista HS, 3:00 PM Sat, Mar 28 - Mt. Carmel/ ASICS Track Invite 10:00 AM Fri, Apr 10 - Citrus #2 Vista HS, 3:00 PM Fri, Apr 17 - Citrus #3 Julian HS 3:00 PM Fri, May 1 -Dennis Gilbert Small Schools Invite Mountain Empire HS 3:00 PM Sat, May 2 Dick Wilkins Frosh-Soph Invite Del Norte HS 9:00 AM Thu, May 14 - Citrus League Finals, Julian HS 3:00 PM Sat, May 23 CIF-SDS Prelims Mt. Carmel HS 3:00 PM Sat, May 30 CIF-SDS Finals Mt. Carmel HS 3:00 PM Girls Softball Thursday, March 12 - vs Warner Monday, March 16 @Vincent Memorial Wednesday, March 18 L 18-8 @Ocean View Friday, March 20 ...... L 15-14 3:15 @West Shores Tuesday, March 24 L 30-16 vs West Shores Thursday, March 26 away 4:00 @Foothills Christian Tuesday, April 14 Home 3:30 vs Econdido Adventist Thursday, April 16 Home 3:30 vs Lutheran Tuesday, April 21 away 3:15 @Calvary Academy Thursday, April 23 Home 3:15 vs Borrego Springs Friday, April 24 away 3:15 @Borrego Springs Tuesday, April 28 away 3:30 @SanPasqualAcademy Friday, May I Home 3:30 vs Vincent Memorial Tuesday, May 5 Home 3:30 vs Ocean View Thursday, May 7 away 3:30 @Escondido Adventist Friday, May 8 Home 3:30 vs Foothills Christian Tuesday, May 12 away 3:30 @Lutheran Thursday, May 14 Home 3:30 vs Calvary Academy Boys Baseball (updated) Thursday, March 19 W 19-8 @West Shores Tuesday, March 24 W 20-3 West Shores Saturday, April 11 Home 11/2 (2)vs San Pasqual Valley Thursday, April 16 Home 3:30 vs River Valley Saturday, April 18 away 12:00 @Liberty Charter Wednesday, April 22 Home 3:15 Liberty Charter Tuesday, April 28 Home 3:15 vs Lutheran Thursday, April 30 Home 3:30 vs Ocean View Friday, May I Home 3:30 Vincent Memorial Tuesday, May 5 away 3:30 @Borrego Sp[ings Thursday May ,14 away 3:30 @Lutheran Tuesday, May 19 away 4:00 @Ocean View Thursday, May 21 Home 3:30 vs Borrego Springs Thursday, April 2 at Art,st Loft ,n Prone Hills, 5:30 C11an,lr {,t Cmme www.iulianca-com ,,